top of page

OUTREACH

  • Caroline Juang

Science Comic: Theory of the Earth

My comic, "Theory of the Earth", was published in Boundless Vol. 1: A Science Comics Anthology by the Boston Comics Roundtable.


The rock cycle illustrated in my comic, "Theory of the Earth".

I produced a 4-page comic about the beginnings of geology with cool graphics of the rock cycle, and was published alongside 29 other comics after a successful Kickstarter that raised over $18,000 (way more than the $8,000 goal!) to fund the authors, publish the books, and send the backers many more goodies. A big thank you to Olivia Li, Jordan Stillman, Neil Johnson, and Heide Solbrig for organizing and editing the anthology and working with me for many months.


Creating the comic took a few months, from researching more about the life of James Hutton, the "father of modern geology" and finding images of his life, to writing the script to concisely convey both the history and the geology I wanted to teach. My goal was to tell an engaging story and introduce readers to the fun of rocks. While creating this work, I reminisced about my own excitement learning about geobiology in a class in my senior year at Harvard, taught by two great scientists in the field, Professor Andrew Knoll and Professor David Johnston.


I pitched the comic to the Editors, which started as a 1-page comic and then expanded into the final 4-page comic. In my Endnotes for the anthology, I dissect fun details in the panels that I learned during my research, such as: in the third panel on page 1, James Hutton is holding a holding a rock with a graptolite fossil, a class of animals that existed in the Paleozoic. Graptolites evolved and diversified quickly, making them a good index fossil, a fossil that can date the age of a rock.


You can read the full comic on my website! Also, you can get a physical copy of Boundless Vol. 1 from RobotCamp.

Front cover of Boundless Vol. 1: A Science Comics Anthology by the Boston Comics Roundtable.


bottom of page